June 2014 Minutes


Cameron Valves and Measurements

7200 Interstate 30, Little Rock, 72209

June 20, 2014


Cody Duren, Cameron Valves

Bill Davis, Cameron Valves

Richard Armstrong, Snyder Industries

Mark Howell, Howell Safety Consultants

Mike Taylor, Ashland

Thayer McKinley, International Paper

Rain Chism, Riggs Cat

Kenny Draper, Riggs Cat

Brent Bennett, Wise Safety

Elizabeth Nealy, Cintas, Fort Smith

Ben Anderson, Lone Star Safety

Tyler Connor, Ashland, Inc.

Mike Taylor, Ashland, Inc.

Joni Sohl, Interstate Signs

Keneasha Scott, SEPA Training

Denise Whittaker, SIPLAST

Malissa Mayer, G4S, North Little Rock

Cody Whaley, Matthews International

Anthony Cervantez,  Matthews International

James Hankins, Matthews International

Quinton Simison, BASF

Carlos Reynolds, DOL-OSHA

Mary Walter, DOL-OSHA

Clark Thomas, ADOL

Tonia Cooper, ADOL

Ocie Robinson, ADOL

Milana Dennis, ADOL

Nita Matlock, ADOL


Cody Duren welcomed all and asked for everyone to introduce themselves and their guests.

Minutes required correction on Topics and Speakers before being passed.  Motion made and carried.


Bill Davis and Cody Duren, both of Cameron Valves, made a presentation on “Getting Employees Involved With Policy and Safety Procedures”.  The pitfalls of engaging employees (or people) are:

  • Poor communication or lack of communication from management down and employees up;
  • Unequal Action to one, but not another;
  • Delivering bad news; i.e., performance or reprimand for no PPE.
  • Amounts to Leadership both up and down the chain of Safety.

Old Business

  • The minutes of the April meeting were reviewed and not approved and will be revised.
  • Siplast (Denise Whittaker) and Ashland, Inc., (Mike Taylor) will sign the letter of invitation.
  • Siplast will provide paper for Meet and Greet.
  • Vendor Committee is chaired by Denise Whittaker and Melissa Mayer.
  • Letter to Keynote Speaker, Mr. Steve Wilson, to be written by Brent Bennett.

New Business

  • Rusty Griffin to write a Managers Meeting invitation (attached).
  • A sub-committee will meet to set topics and speakers – chaired by Rusty Griffin and Clark Thomas.
  • Each association member is to suggest vendors to Denise Whittaker. Ten slots only and first come first serve. Sending her contact information. Denise Whittaker, Siplast – email Denise Whittaker <usdha@icopal.com>

The July 18 meeting will be at the Arkansas Department of Labor, 10421 West Markham, Little Rock.

It will begin at 10 am and RSVP for security is required.

RSVP to Milana Dennis (ADOL) milana.dennis@arkansas.gov

or 501-682-9090.


Meeting adjourned at 12:00 p.m.

Milana Dennis

Comments are Closed