July 2011 Minutes

July 15, 2011

Deanna Dykes       Calionlumber@sbcglobal.net

Todd Franks         Ustfe@icopal.com

Kim Fischer          Fischer.kim@dol.gov

Quinton Simison  Quinton.simison@basf.com

Angelia Hogan      ATHogan@GAPAC.com

Barbie Trammell   Barbie.Trammell@GAPAC.Com

Clark Thomas       Thomas.Clark@dol.gov

Juanita Matlock    Juanita.Matlock@Arkansas.gov

Tonia Cooper        Cooper.Tonia@dol.gov

Ralph Smith         Ralph_Smith@Ashland.com

Jake Bowers         jake_bowers@welspun.com

Jake Chauney       jake_Chauney_@welspun.com

Joe Jenko           jdjenko@ashland.com

LeaAnn Shivers    lashivers@gapac.com

Ed Phillips           edward.phillipsjr@gapac.com

Ocie Robinson     robinson.ocie@dol.gov

Tommy Short     tshort@us.loreal.com

Tracy Mallette    tmallette@us.loreal.com

Kelly Olivier       kolivier@anthonyforest.com

Charlotte Humphries chumphries@anthonyforest.com

David Hodges    dhodges@producersrice.com

The meeting was held at the Arkansas Department of Labor Office; opening remarks by Clark Thomas.

A representative of the Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve recognition program presented the patriot award to Kim Fischer for supporting the National Guard Employees as the direct supervisor. Kim Accepted the Award on Behalf of the entire Department of Labor.

Quinton Simison welcomed everyone in attendance and reviewed the key agenda items;

National VPPPA conference is scheduled to begin August 29 inNew Orleans. There are plans to hold a meeting with the National Association Board and discuss the benefits of this organization. A list of names was collected for those who are planning on attending: Quinton Simison, Clark Thomas, Juanita Matlock, Kelly Olivier, Chris Beason, Lea Ann Shivers, Jake Bowers, Tommy Short, Denise Whittaker, and Todd Franks. Anyone who is planning on attending should sent a Email to Quinton to ensure you make the meeting

A booth about the Arkansas SHARP / VPP Association will be set up at the National Conference. Juanita is collecting information, pictures and Logo. All members are asked to submit information as soon as possible to her email address listed above.

September Conference

A draft copy of the Brochure was review and comments made to finalize for mailing. The final topics are;

7:30 Registrations

8:15 Welocome

9:00 Motivational Speaker

9:30 VPPPA update

10:00 Regional OSHA Consultation update

10:15 Break

10:30 A. Key Elements of an Effective Safety and Health Management system

10:30 B. Hazard Recognition

10:30 C. Behavior Base Safety / Coaching and Feedback

11:15 Lunch and Networking

12:00 Arkansas OSHA update

1:00 A. Ergonomics

1:00 B. Making Training Interesting

1:00 C. NFPA 70E

1:45 Break

2:00 Conducting Effective Safety Committee Meetings

2:50 door prizes

3:00 Adjourn

Break Sponsorship – BASF, Cintas, Zero Mountian, L’Oreal, Calion Lumber, Producers Rice, Anthony Forest Products, Georgia Pacific – Fordyce.  Juanita to finalize the cost and menu of the Breaks with the conference center and alert the companies to the cost.

Door Prizes – Coordinator is Lea Ann Shivers.  These items are being collected at the Department of Labor office or can be brought to the Hotel the evening before the Conference.

Lea Ann has requested the following items for each participate to use during the conference, pens, note pads, post-its, pencils, candy etc..

Sharley Petti Award – Kim Fischer provided a sheet to everyone listing the statistical information that was submitted in a spreadsheet with out names. Attendees review this information looking for companies with the best record and then the most improved. Two were nominated from the list by a vote. The winner will be announced at the September Conference.

This award is being sponsored this year by Georgia Pacific Fordyce.

Samples of the Bumper Stickers were presented to the group. These will be provided to all attendees at the conference and at the booth at the national conference.

Golf Shirts with the Organization Logo have been approved and orders are being collected by Lea Ann Shivers. The shirt will be a medium green with Arkansas SHARP logo on the Right Sleeve and the Arkansas VPP logo on the Left Sleeve with the lettering “Partners in Safety” on the left chest. The Cost is about 30.00 with added cost for larger sizes. Order must be placed no later than August 1st.  If you are interested in a shirt, contact Lea Ann using the Email address at the top.

Todd Franks, Siplast, Conducted a presentation on How to Get Field personnel involved in Safety. The presentation showed how information mail outs and response cards could be used for remote employees. It utilized historic safety art work from the Illinois Works Progress Administration to get your attention.  http://vintagraph.com/wpa-posters/health-and-safety-posters/2378911

The Safety Information was obtained through their Workers Compensation Insurance web site. You are encouraged to talk with your service to see what maybe available

Incident Sharing

Fatality at a voluntary company sponsored event

Fatality of a delivery driver while at a facility

Heat Exhaustion due to dehydration from Home repairs over the weekend

 

Meeting adjourn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *