January 2015 Minutes


Arkansas Department of Labor
January 16, 2015


Rusty Griffin, Cameron Valve

Todd Franks, Siplast

Denise Whittaker, Siplast

Keneasha Scott, SEPA

Josh Brannon, Matthews International

Philip Walker, Matthews International

Scotty Van Winkle, Matthews International

Lee Walker, Central Maloney

Joe Brickford, G4S

Marvin Hall, Ashland

Mike Taylor, Ashland

Julie Roberson, Anthony Forest

Brent Bennett, Wise Safety

Mary Walter, OSHA DOL

Nita Matlock, ADOL

Tonia Cooper, ADOL

James Neil, Welspun

Arlie Bradbury, Welspun

James Kaminski, Work Wear

Joni Sohl, Interstate Signs

Dan DeSilva, Cintas

Lee Church, City of Little Rock Public Works

Randell Crabtree, Brock

Elizabeth Nealey, Cintas, Fort Smith

Terry Joe White, Siplast

Deanna Dykes, Calion Lumber

Mark Howell, Howell Safety

Leon Jones, Jr., Director, ADOL

Clark Thomas, ADOL

Ricky Belk, former Director, ADOL

Carlos Reynolds, OSHA DOL


Chairman Rusty Griffin welcomed all and asked for introductions around the room.  Rusty recognized Clark Thomas, who introduced the new Director of Labor, Leon Jones, Jr. Mr. Jones made brief remarks. A short break in the meeting followed, allowing Mr. Jones to greet everyone individually.

Rusty acknowledged Clark Thomas to explain new rules regarding participation in SHARP. Letters to the companies affected have been sent clarifying the new decision. Those companies under 250 employees may remain in SHARP. Those companies with 251 to 500 employees or more should make application for VPP.  A discussion took place regarding the new record-keeping requirements.

A presentation by Todd Franks, Siplast, was given on identification training tool found at http://www.OSHA.gov/hazfinder . Todd gave a brief demonstration of the training tool and its many uses for employees, Safety Managers and Safety Committees.  The website is free.


Chairman Rusty Griffin revisited the formation of a Leadership Team, asked for discussion, and called for a vote. It was voted to continue the structure of leadership as it is currently set up.



Develop a theme, topics and speakers for 11th Annual SHARP VPP Conference, September

Set committees for September 2015 Conference

  • Theme (it is the Eleventh (11th)  Annual Conference
  • Topics and Speakers
  • Breakouts (if we have any)
  • Agenda for the conference day
  • Vendor committee and chair – Charge for them – how many and contact them
  • Meet and Greet Committee
  • Menu selection Committee
  • Door Prize Committee
  • Managers’ Luncheon Letters (companies who sign the invitation letter)
  • Statistical report for Sharley Pettit Award is due by April 15, 2015
  • Recommendations for a new Chairperson(s)


Shared Safety Incidences

The next meeting, scheduled for February 20, 2015, was cancelled due to inclement weather.

The March 20 meeting will be held at the Arkansas Department of Labor, 10421 West Markham, Little Rock, 72205, from 10am to Noon.

Comments are Closed